E-Newsletter: Malahat lite

Get on The Malahat Review's e-mailing list and receive Malahat lite as well as to-the-point emails about WordsThaw (our annual spring symposium), special subscription offers, calls for submissions to themed issues, and all things contest-related (deadlines, judges, shortlists, prize money, and winners).

Malahat lite is our monthly e-newsletter. Each edition is packed with topical interviews from camera-ready contributors, contest winners, and judges; poignant book reviews; cogent contest updates; snazzy event listings; and, yes, the latest issue of the magazine itself.

 

Advertisements can be purchased in Malahat lite for $50 per issue, or 3 issues per $100. Each should be sized 150 x 150 pixels. Email malahat@uvic.ca to book a placement.

Current

Issue #195 cover

September 2016 Interviews with Open Season Award judges Sina Queyras, Jaspreet Singh, and Molly Peacock, as well as Issue #195 poetry contributor Steve McOrmond (pictured) and Far Horizons Poetry Contest winner Yusuf Saadi. Journey Prize nomination for J. R. McConvey's Malahat story, "Home Range." Student subscriptions for just $12.

Click here for the e-newsletter.

Archives

2016

2015

Issue 192November 2015 Interviews with Autumn Issue 192 contributors Dan Siney on his cover art work, and Joshua James Edgar on his short fiction piece, "Jane Doe." Publishing Tip from local Victoria writer Kari Jones on how to find the right publisher for you. And entries are now being accepted for the biennial Novella Prize! Send a big story (10,000 - 20,000 words) for a chance at big money ($1500).

 


Joe RosenblattOctober 2015 Interviews with Autumn Issue 192 contributors Joe Rosenblatt (pictured) and Alex Leslie; Open Season Contest deadline reminder (November 1) and $4,500 cash incentive; featured Fiction Book Review from Brenda Hasiuk; special student subscription offer of $11.95 for a full year; Our Back Pages from 1982, and more.

 


Fiona LamSeptember 2015 Interviews with Open Season Award judges Russell Thornton (poetry), Kathy Page (fiction), and Fiona Tinwei Lam (creative nonfiction, pictured); and with Mark Rogers, this year's Far Horizons contest winner for Fiction. Shout out to K'ari Fisher on being nominated for a Journey Prize with her story, "Mercy Beatrice Wrestles the Noose." Publishing tip from Shane Neilson, Our Back Pages from 1981, and more.

 


191 coverAugust 2015 Interviews with John Goldbach and Sarah de Leeuw, contributors to Issue 191, the summer issue; Long Poem Symposium papers from The League of Canadian Poets' annual conference, with presentations by Kate Braid, Cornelia Hoogland, and Sharon Thesen; call for entries to this year's Open Season Awards; Our Back Pages archive issue from 1891, and more.

 


Jane SilcottJuly 2015 Interviews with Jane Silcott, 2015 Constance Rooke Creative Nonfiction Prize judge, and Andrew Wachtel, translator of Issue 191 contributor Anzhelina Polonskaya's "Greenland"; Publishing Tip from Jessica Michalofsky on the benefits of writing book reviews; Summer Subscription deal (just $15 for one year); Our Back Pages archive issue feature from July 1980.

 


Colin SnowsellJune 2015 Interviews with Colin Snowsell and Christine Wiesenthal, both contributors to the Spring issue (#190); job opportunity at the Malahat to work as our Social Media, Marketing & Circulation Manager; call for contest submissions to the annual Constance Rooke CNF Prize; last call for CNF submissions for the Winter issue; 3rd Great BC Novel Contest call for entries.

 


Issue 190May 2015 Interviews with Long Poem Prize winners Gary Geddes and Genevieve Lehr on poetics and structure of the long form; interview with Issue 190 poetry contributor Danny Jacobs. Awards: 2 National Magazine Award nominations, and call for entries to our annual Constance Rooke Creative Nonfiction Contest. New to the site is Publishing Tips, a space for writers to read (and submit) helpful hints on the literary world.

 


John ReibetanzApril 2015 Interviews with the Founders' Award winners: John Reibetanz and Jan Zwicky (for Poetry), and K'ari Fisher (for fiction). Elyse Friedman, Far Horizons Fiction Contest judge, is also interviewed. Contest reminder for Far Horizons (May 1 deadline) and the six finalists for the 2015 Long Poem Prize are announced. And finally, take our survey on submission fees to Canadian journals - would you pay to submit?

 


Wanda HurrenMarch 2015 Interviews with the 2015 Open Season Award winners Rebecca Salazar (poetry), Wanda Hurren (fiction; pictured), and Mike Carson (nonfiction). WordsThaw, our annual literary festival, gets lots of media promotion, and Lynne Van Luven speaks about her role as moderator for the creative nonfiction panel. The 2015 Founders' Awards winners are announced: K'ari Fisher, John Reibetanz, and Jan Zwicky.

 


Issue 189February 2015 Interviews with Issue 189 contributor Patrick Warner on his poetry, and with WordsThaw symposium participants David Leach and Christine Walde, who will be moderating panel discussions on self-publishing and young adult literature, respectively. Open Season 2015 contest winners announced. Upcoming contest reminders for the Far Horizons Fiction Award and the ongoing Twitter Memoir Contest.

 


Thoraya El-RayyesJanuary 2015 Interviews with Issue 188 contributor Thoraya El-Rayyes on her translation of Hisham Bustani's flash fiction, and with Jason Markowsky on his fiction piece in upcoming Winter Issue 189. Contest reminders and updates on the Long Poem Prize and Twitter Memoir Contest. Special features: WordsThaw 2015 site launch; holiday subscription offer until January 31; Our Back Pages from July 1976, and more.

 


2014

2013



    Mark AbleySeptember 2013 Interviews with Jeffery Donaldson, Yasuko Thanh and Mark Abley, this year's judges for the 2014 Open Season Awards. Read a story and interview with issue #183 contributor Armand Garnet Ruffo. Listen to a MalaPods podcast with VWF panelist Maleea Acker. Read an interview with our 2013 Far Horizons Award winner Kerry-Lee Powell.



    Issue 183August 2013 Read a story and interview with Stephen Marche, a MalaPods podcast with Friend of The Malahat Brent Schaus, a draw for a $25 Russell Books gift certificate, information on a Malahat-sponsored panel at the Victoria Writers' Festival, and our 2014 Open Season Awards.



    Carla FunkJuly 2013 Interview with 2012 Constance Rooke Creative Nonfiction Prize winner Carla Funk, A MalaPods podcast with issue #183 contributor Dorothy Field, a feature on Malahat-carrier Mac's Fireweed Books in Whitehorse, and info on our Summer Subscription Deal and 2013 Constance Rooke Creative Nonfiction Prize.

     


    John VaillantJune 2013 Interviews with Constance Rooke Creative Nonfiction Prize judge John Vaillant, issue #182 contributor Anna Maxymiw, 2013 Long Poem Prize winners Kim Trainor and Claire Caldwell, and UVic 50th Anniversary Prize for Poetry winner Pamela Porter. Info on our Summer Subscription Deal and Congress 2013 events.

     


    Issue 182May 2013 Interviews with issue #182 contributor Cody Klippenstein, poetry board member Rhonda Batchelor, and Friend of The Malahat Wally du Temple. Info on our Congress 2013 events in June 2013.

 

 


  • Lorna CrozierApril 2013 Interviews with 2011 Far Horizons Award for Short Fiction winner Zoey Leigh Peterson, Issue #182 contributor Lorna Crozier, 2013 Founders' Award winners Kris Bertin and Matthew Tierney, and a feature on Malahat seller Words Worth Books.

     


  • Alissa YorkMarch 2013 Info on our 1st-annual spring symposium WordsThaw 2013, interviews with the three winners of our 2013 Open Season Awards, interview with 2013 Far Horizons Award for Fiction judge Alissa York, interview with UVic 50th Anniversary Writing Contest in Fiction winner Laura Kraemer, and creative nonfiction and interview with 2012 Constance Rooke Creative Nonfiction prize winner, Carla Funk from issue #181, Winter 2012.

  • Issue 181February 2013 Info on our 1st-annual spring symposium WordsThaw 2013, fiction and interview with Laura Legge from our Winter issue #181, Q&A with fiction board member Matthew Hooton, and a conversation with Friend of The Malahat Sheila Martindale.

 

 


  • Sandra DjwaJanuary 2013 Daryl Hine from our Winter issue #181, Sandra Djwa lecture, winter launch info, holiday subscription deals, summary of John Threlfall's "Writing the Arts," Galiano Island Books, and WordsThaw 2013!

 

 

 

2009

2008

2007

2006

Sign up for our free email newsletter
Email Address:

CLICK TO CLOSE BOX
Follow on FacebookFollow Us on TwitterFollow Us on Instagram

SPECIAL
FEATURES

P. K. Page: A Tribute

ADVERTISEMENTS

Notes and Queries Contest Announcement

Prism Ad

Anything Can Happen at a Magazine Store

UVic Alumni Card